Home Print Add favorites Contact Sitemap
Exhibition &
Industrial Forum

Exhibition Info
Abstract Sub

Floor map




Graphene is a two-dimensional monolayer of sp² bonded carbon atoms in a dense honeycomb crystal structure which behaves electronically as a zero-gap semiconductor. Its discovery in 2004 has sparked a considerable scientific activity that has now established a broad international community with interest in both fundamental
properties of a unique material, together with a wealth of foreseen applications in fields as nanoelectronics (high-frequency devices,..), electromechanics, optics, photonics, sensing, NEMS,…Exceptional electronic properties of this material, resulting in carrier mobilities as large as several thousands of cm²/Vs, make this material at the heart of the alternatives for the so-called beyond-CMOS nanoelectronics research. The current carrying capability of graphene is orders of magnitude higher than that of metals. Additionally, graphene is CMOS compatible and can be handled by standard planar technology, which should result in highest integration of device density in the medium run. Graphene devices are also believed to work at much lower supply voltages and should therefore result in lower power consumption. Therefore graphene has the potential to increase computing performance, functionality and communication speed far beyond the expected limits of conventional CMOS technology, which is related with large financial markets in the microelectronics business. Additionally, the reports of novel functionalities in graphene devices such as sensing capability, electro-mechanical effects (e.g. resonators) and spintronics effects also profile some new perspectives for innovative applications. Those salient features will be at the heart of GRAPHENE 2011 that will present the state of the art of the field.


    Plenary Speakers
  Kostya Novoselov
    (Manchester Univ, UK)
    Invited Speakers
  Phaedon Avouris
    (IBM, USA)
  Luigi Colombo
    (Texas Instruments, USA)
  Albert Fert
    (Université Paris Sud & CNRS/Thales, France)
  Philip Kim
    (Columbia University, USA)
  Sumio Iijima
    (Meijo Univ, Japan)
  Adrian Bachtold
    (CIN2 (ICN-CSIC), Spain)
  Alexander Balandin
    (University of California, USA)
  Antonio H. Castro Neto
    (National Univ. of Singapore, Singapore)
  Yongsheng Chen
    (Center for Nanoscale Science & Technology, China)
  Manish Chhowalla
    (Rutgers, USA)
  Hyun-Jong Chung
    (Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, South Korea)
  Klaus Ensslin
    (ETH, Switzerland)
  Andrea Ferrari
    (Cambridge University, UK)
  Mark O. Goerbig
    (CNRS / Univ Paris Sud, France)
  Byung Hee Hong
    (SKKU Advanced Institute of Nanotechnology, Korea)
  Walt de Heer
    (Georgia Technology, USA)
  Pablo Jarillo-Herrero
    (MIT, USA)
  Roland Kawakami
    (University of California, USA)
  Alessandra Lanzara
    (Berkeley, USA)
  Kian Ping Loh
   (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  Klaus Mullen
    (Max Planck Inst for Polymer Research, Germany)
  Alain Pnicaud
    (Universit Bordeaux-I, France)
  Thomas Seyller
    (Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany)
  Katsunori Wakabayashi
    (MANA / NIMS, Japan)
  Andrew Wee
    (National Univ. of Singapore, Singapore)
  Florian Banhart
    (University of Strasbourg, France)
  Francesco Bonaccorso
    (Cambridge University, United Kingdom)
  Andrea Candini
    (Istituto Nanoscienze - CNR centro S3 Modena, Italy)
  Eduardo Castro
    (ICMM - CSIC, Spain)
  Hyeonsik Cheong
    (Sogang University, Korea)
  Monica Craciun
    (University of Exeter, United Kingdom)
  Georg Duesberg
    (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
  Toshiaki Enoki
    (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  Walter Escoffier
    (LNCMI, France)
  Delia Fernandez-Torre
    (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain)
  Julio Gomez-Herrero
    (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain)
  Sophie Gueron
    (LPS, France)
  Junji Haruyama
    (Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan)
  Liv Hornekaer
    (Aarhus University, Denmark)
  Ian Kinloch
    (University of Manchester, United Kingdom)
  Frank Koppens
    (ICFO - The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain)
  Michele Lazzeri
    (IMPMC, France)
  Ather Mahmood
    (Néel Institute, France)
  Elisa Molinari
    (Centro S3-CNR Istituto Nanoscienze and Universita' di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Italy)
  Zhenhua Ni
    (Southeast University, China)
  Frank Ortmann
    (CEA Grenoble, France)
  Bernard Placais
    (Ecole Normale Superieure, France)
  Maurizio Prato
    (Universita' di Trieste, Italy)
  Aidan Quinn
    (Tyndall National Institute, University College Cork, Ireland)
  Wencai Ren
    (Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  Joshua Robinson
    (The Pennsylvania State University, United States)
  Pablo San-Jose
    (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Spain)
  Daniel Sánchez Portal
    (Centro de Física de Materiales, Spain)
  Peter Sutter
    (Brookhaven National Laboratory, United States)
  Arend van der Zande
    (Columbia University, United States)
  Heiko B. Weber
    (University of Erlangen, Germany)
  Steffen Wiedmann
    (HFML, Radboud Univesity Nijmegen, Netherlands)
  Sungjong Woo
    (KIAS (Korea Institute for Advanced Study), Korea)
  Jun Yan
    (University of Maryland, United States)



ImagineNano 2011